Fundación Donostia International Physics Center

The DIPC is a non-profit research centre whose main goal is to promote and catalyse high-level basic and oriented research in condensed matter physics, materials science, and nanoscience. Since its creation in 1999, DIPC has been an open institution serving as platform for the development and internationalization of research in its closer scientific environment and early on became an international hub between the local community of researchers and a world-wide network of elite scientists. In 2017, DIPC hosted 306 researchers from 35 countries, including 19 senior Ikerbasque researchers leading the research groups. The Nanoelectronics group is focused on developing theory and simulation tools to describe and understand nanostructures and interfaces from atomistic models. The group works on quantum transport theory and electronic structure methods, uses supercomputing facilities to perform large-scale simulations based on density functional theory and nonequilibrium Green’s functions, and develops new methodology and code implementations to advance the field.



Main tasks: Development of theory and methods to describe spin radicals and spin-spin interactions, and electron transport in relevant graphene systems; provide theory and simulations to experimental partners.

Expertise/profile: Density functional theory; tight-binding and mean-field Hubbard models; theory of scanning probe microscopies; electronic structure and transport in graphene nanosystems; molecule-surface interactions; surface chemistry; quantum information theory.


Stabilizing Edge-Fluorination in Graphene Nanoribbons

M. Panighel, S. Quiroga, P. Brandimarte, C. Moreno, A. Garcia-Lekue, M. Vilas-Varela, D. Rey, G. Sauthier, G. Ceballos, D. Peña, A. Mugarza*
ACS Nano 14, 9, 11120–11129 (2020)
[ DOI ] [ Supplementary Information ]

Crossed graphene nanoribbons as beam splitters and mirrors for electron quantum optics

Sofia Sanz, Pedro Brandimarte, Géza Giedke, Daniel Sánchez-Portal, Thomas Frederiksen
Phys. Rev. B 102, 035436 (2020)
[ ] [ DOI ] [ Open Access ]

Siesta: Recent developments and applications

Alberto García, Nick Papior, Arsalan Akhtar, Emilio Artacho, Volker Blum, Emanuele Bosoni, Pedro Brandimarte, Mads Brandbyge, J. I. Cerdá, Fabiano Corsetti, Ramón Cuadrado, Vladimir Dikan, Jaime Ferrer, Julian Gale, Pablo García-Fernández, V. M. García-Suárez, Sandra García, Georg Huhs, Sergio Illera, Richard Korytár, Peter Koval, Irina Lebedeva, Lin Lin, Pablo López-Tarifa, Sara G. Mayo, Stephan Mohr, Pablo Ordejón, Andrei Postnikov, Yann Pouillon, Miguel Pruneda, Roberto Robles, Daniel Sánchez-Portal, Jose M. Soler, Rafi Ullah, Victor Wen-zhe Yu and Javier Junquera
J. Chem. Phys. 152, 204108 (2020)
[ DOI ] [ Open Access ]

Newsletter subscription

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Basic information on data protection
Purposes To manage your subscription to our "newsletter" service and send the corresponding electronic communications.
Rights You have the right to withdraw your consent at any time, oppose their processing, access, rectify and erase the data, in addition to other rights, by writing to CIC nanoGUNE via post or to the email address
Additional information You can consult additional, detailed information on Data Protection in the Privacy Policy section.
By clicking on “Submit” I consent to the processing of my data under the terms indicated